The Snow Leopard Award, an inimitable challenge, is one of the hardest in the world and with good reason. It is such an achievement that in the 70s, the Snow Leopard was an acknowledged mountaineering award and today is still recognised in the Commonwealth of Independent States.

To receive the prestigious Snow Leopard Award, you must scale all five 7,000m peaks situated on the border between Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan, in Kyrgyzstan itself and on the Kyrgyzstan/Kazakhstan border. I will be attempting it fast and light Alpine style. To give you a sense of the challenge involved, between 1961 and 2016 only 665 climbers have claimed this honour!

The five peaks themselves are formidable and are recognized individually as extreme climbs, they are:

  • Ismail Samani Peak (formerly Communism Peak) 7495m
  • Peak Korzhenevskaya 7105m
  • Ibn Sina Peak (formerly Lenin Peak) 7134m on the Kyrgyzstan-Tajikistan border
  • Jengish Chokusu (formerly Peak Pobeda) 7439m in Kyrgyzstan
  • Khan Tengri 7010m Kyrgyzstan-Kazakhstan border

‘Snow Leopard 2017 or Bust’ is set to take place in April and will also be credited with a world record should I summit all 5 in less than 30 days. I am excited to share that this challenge (and our journey to get there) will be made into a documentary, filmed in 4K and an 1 hour long. Also we will be producing a book that will be due out in the Autumn with proceeds will go to Kegawa Herders’ Cooperative.

I am privileged and grateful that so many amazing businesses and individuals are supporting the challenge – without their equipment, food & drink, physical presence, training advice and more, this would be have been impossible from the start.  If YOU want to get involved, love to hear from you!


Jengish Chokusu – Also known as Victory Peak or Peak Pobeda which stands at 7,439 m on the China/Kyrgyzstan border within the Tian Shan/Kakshaal Too range and was first climbed by Vitaly Abalakov in 1956.

More details can be found here.

Khan Tengri – Also known as Hantengri Peak or Khan Tangiri Shyngy, Kan-Too Chokusu, Pik Khan-Tengry, and Hantengri Feng and stands at 7010m and found within the Tian Shan region and was first climbed in 1931 Mikhail Pogrebetsky

More details can be found here.

Ismail Samani Peak – Also known as Communism Peak, and previously Stalin Peak and stands at 7,495 m and is located in the Pamirs and was first climbed on 9 September 1933 by 9 September 1933 by Yevgeniy Abalakov

More details can be found here.

Peak Korzhenevskaya – It is named after Evgenia Korzhenevskaya, the wife of Russian geographer Nikolai L. Korzhenevskiy, who discovered the peak in August 1910. You may see it called Korzhenevski, Korzhenevskoi, and Korzhenievsky as well. It stands at 7105m and is found within the Pamirs and was first climbed in 1953 by A. Ugarov et al.

More details can be found here.

Lenin Peak – Since 2006 it’s been known as Ibn Sina Peak or, alternatively, Avicenna Peak, but has been as Mount Kaufmann after the Konstantin Kaufman, the first Governor-General of Turkestan. It stands at 7134m and is found in the Pamirs. It was first climbed in 1928 by Karl Wien, Eugen Allwein and Erwin Schneider.

For a quick peak at the peaks take a trip here with flyovers here

More details can be found here.

A list of recipients of the Snow Leopard Award can be found here.

You may also be interested to read about the Snow Leopard of Russia Award …

Mountaineering Federation of Russia approved a new collection of peaks for the award – Snow Leopard of Russia which, to be awarded, you must summit 10 Russian famous peaks. This award is an interesting possibility for 2018, as it is a real challenge culminating is ascending a volcano, after crossing Russia.

Alex Slotyuk, president of the Federation  Mountaineering of Moscow was the initiator of the establishment of the title. Everyone who confirm ascents will be awarded plaques and diplomas.

In order to become a “Snow Leopard Russia” you must climb the following Russian summits:

Take a tour here

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *